Logan’s best-of-the-decades series part four: looking at the second half of the 1990s

The ongoing decades series is back again, this time with the second half (movies 16 through 30) of the ’90s list. You can check the first half here. Since I did all of my introducing of this decade in the last post, I will move straight to the list.

The list is alphabetical, as always.

16. Ed Wood (1994)
I know this should have been on the first part, but I just watched it last night. After I saw it, I had to include it on the list. It is in contention with Edward Scissorhands for my favorite Depp/Burton collaboration.

17. The Matrix (1999)
If I were to be asked what movie I have seen the most times, The Matrix would be the resounding answer. I used to reenact scenes from it in my back yard when I was a kid.

18. Miller’s Crossing (1990)
A gangster movie directed by the Coen Brothers? Oh, yes.

19. Pulp Fiction (1994)
Here it is, my favorite movie. I could watch this movie every day for the rest of my life, and I would never tire of it. Jules Winnfield. Vincent Vega. The briefcase. The watch. The countless references. I could write an entire blog post just about this film.

20. Reservoir Dogs (1992)
Consecutive Tarantino films? I told you he was my favorite director. This movie has the second best Mexican standoff ever. (The best)

21. Saving Private Ryan (1998)
The storming of Normandy Beach is one of the most brutal, yet beautiful scenes ever filmed.

22. Schindler’s List (1993)
And now, consecutive Spielberg movies. Some of the saddest and most inspirational moments in film history.

23. Scream (1996)
The movie that brought slasher flicks back from the dead. The opening scene with Drew Barrymore gets me every single time.

24. Se7en (1995)
Kevin Spacey is beyond creepy. Brad Pitt screaming “what’s in the box?” at the top of his lungs will forever be ingrained in my memory.

25. The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
Andy Dufresne and Red had a better friendship than you will ever have with anyone. Ever.

26. Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)
The special effects still look amazing today. The action scenes are nail-biting all the way through the film.

27. Three Kings (1999)
A heist film set during the Gulf War that teams up George Clooney, Ice Cube and Marky Mark? Bring it on.

28. True Romance (1993)
Drexl Spivey is the most insane villain Gary Oldman played in the ’90s. That is saying something. Christopher Walken kills it as well.

29. The Truman Show (1998)
It invented reality TV long before Survivor did. It was also one of Jim Carrey’s first roles in his rebirth as a dramatic actor.

30. The Usual Suspects (1995)
Keyser Soze. That ending. Just go watch it before I ruin the entire thing.

I feel like I am leaving out so many great movies. Donnie Brasco, Barton Fink, King of New York, Following, Magnolia, Glengarry Glen Ross, Forrest Gump, American Beauty, Being John Malkovich, pretty much any action movie from the decade. I could go on and on. Feel free to throw in any movie you think I left out in the comments. Also, I would like to note that I am planning on doing a separate list for animated films, so that should explain the absence of films like The Lion King or Toy Story. Next week will be the final entry in the decades series: the 2000s.

This entry was posted in best-of-the-decades series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Logan’s best-of-the-decades series part four: looking at the second half of the 1990s

  1. Cindy says:

    Let’s try this again….did this once…hit the wrong button. If you aren’t emotional after seeing Schindler’s List, you just don’t have a heart. Being an OR nurse, I am use to blood and guts. The scene of the invasion of Normandy in Saving Private Ryan hurt me to the core. I had heard about it but was no where close to prepared. It made you be there and be part of it.

  2. I definitely think The Lion King should be on this list! But I agree with this list as well.

  3. angelahmoore says:

    I like the lists you’ve made. Although I haven’t seen many of the films listed, I have heard about almost all of them. I would have to say that ’10 Things I Hate About You’ and ‘Home Alone’ would have to be on my list.

  4. Brianna Langley says:

    I’ll admit the Shawshank Redemption is the only movie on the list that I’ve seen before, but you’ve definitely piqued my curiosity about the others. Nice job.

  5. Pingback: Best-of-the-aughts: ranking 2009 and 2008 | Listomania

Leave a Reply

